CLKSSchild labor knowledge sharing system

Personal tools
Log in Register

2012 Presidential Award for Child Friendly Municipalities and Cities

The Child Friendly Movement is a nationwide effort to institutionalize the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC). It aims to make the community and the government adopt the child sensitive and child friendly principles as a way of life.

The Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) initiated the Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities pursuant to Executive Order No. 184 entitled “Establishing the Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities” issued on 13 December  1999. The Presidential Award is conferred to deserving local government units in recognition of their vital role in the sustained promotion of children’s rights to survival, development, protection and participation as well as in ensuring child-friendly governance.

In CWC’s effort to advocate and promote child-friendly governance, 38 local government units (LGUs) from 1999-2011 were awarded as outstanding municipalities and cities.

On 17 April 2013, in its 10th year of National Awarding, Presidential Awarding for Child Friendly

Municipalities and Cities will be conducted at Ang Bahay ng Alumni, Magsaysay Avenue cor.

Balagtas, UP Diliman, Quezon City.

Five (5) LGUs shall be awarded and be receiving the Presidential Trophy and P300,000.00 each. The 21 LGU finalists are headed by Hon. Generosa M. Dela Fuente (Samal, Bataan), Hon. Ronelie D. Ubando-Valtoribio (Villaverde, Nueva, Viscaya), Hon. Christine S. Garin (Guimbal, Iloilo),  Hon. Jesus A. Fernandez, Jr. (Pilar, Cebu), Hon. Gregorio T. Abalos, Jr. (La Trinidad, Benguet),  Hon. Jesse I. Concepcion (Mariveles, Bataan), Hon. Sandra Y. Eriguel (Agoo, La Union), Hon. Dindo V. Pardo (Labo, Camarines Norte), Hon. William R. Jao (Tubigon, Bohol), Hon. Abraham Tolentino (Tagaytay City), Hon. Michael  V. Farinas (Laoag City), Hon. Rey T. Uy (Tagum City), Hon.  Socrates C. Fernandez (Talisay City, Cebu), Hon. Benjamin D. Abalos, Jr. (Mandaluyong City), Hon. James Gordon, Jr. (Olongapo City), Hon. Sara Z. Duterte (Davao City), Hon. Ferdinand M.  Amante (Butuan City), Hon. Mauricio G. Domogan (Baguio City), Hon. Evelio R. Leonardia (Bacolod City), Hon. Amelia Sison Navarro (Santiago City) and Hon. Eric C. Codilla (Ormoc City).

The milestone event will be attended by DSWD Hon. Secretary Corazon Juliano-Soliman; DILG Hon. Secretary Manuel A. Roxas II (TBC); CWC Executive Director Brenda S. Vigo (CWC) with the Local Chief Executives of 21 Local Government Units who are regional winners themselves.

# # # # # #

For further inquiries, please contact:

Ms. Denia S. Gamboa/Ms. Ma. Edna R.L. Estal, Public Affairs and Information Office, Telephone No. 7811039 local 1005/1001.

Document Actions
Filed under:

Comments (0)